Each part of biodiversity (Genetic, Species and Ecosystem) has provided immense vital resources and services to support living of human being. Department of Biodiversity & Environment plays a role as a district focal point for implementation of various biodiversity and environment related guidelines, activities etc in the Darjeeling district.

The mission of Department of Biodiversity & Environment is to coordinate the development and enhancing implementation of legal instruments, policy, strategy and action plans within the district.

District Nodal Officer (Environment): Smt. Tshering Choden Dukpa, WBCS (Exe).

Department of Biodiversity & Environment has mission to develop policies, strategies, legislation, and guidelines to ensure integrity biodiversity, ecosystems and sustainable development in Darjeeling district.

Its key functions include:

  • Facilitation in developing policies, strategies, legislation, guidelines, plans and programme in the district.
  • Research and development.
  • Capacity building and awareness raising on biodiversity, ecosystem, bio-safety and environment.
  • Coordinate with relevant ministry and agency focal point persons for the work related to management of biodiversity, ecosystems and bio-safety.
  • Develop and strengthen cooperation with development partners, civil society, private sector, academia, and other relevant stakeholders to support conservation and management of biodiversity, ecosystems, and bio-safety.

District Level Biodiversity Management committee (DBMC) –  

District level BMC is a policy-making body reconstituted in January 2021 to promote sustainable development and to ensure economic, environmental, social and cultural balance within Darjeeling district.

The DBMC comprises 11 members along with different blocks, municipalities and panchayats level Biodiversity Management Committees within the district. It is chaired by the District Magistrate, Darjeeling.

Sl. No. Ex-Officio Members Designation Designation in the DBMC
1. Shri Shashank Sethi,IAS District Magistrate Chairman
3. Smt Tshering Choden Dukpa, WBCS (Exe) Dy. Magistrate & Deputy Collector/Officer-in-Charge (Env) District Nodal Officer
4.  Shri Arbindo Ghosh, WBCS (Exe) Sub-Divisional Officer, Darjeeling Sadar Member
5.  S/Smt  Pridarshani S, IAS Sub-Divisional Officer, Siliguri Member
6. Shri  Anabil Dutta, WBCS (Exe) Sub-Divisional Officer, Mirik Member
7. Shri Abhishek Chourasiya, IAS Sub-Divisional Officer, Kurseong Member
8. S/Smt Sumedha Pradhan, WBCS (Exe) Executive Director, GTA Darjeeling Member
9. S/Smt Anamika Sharma Project Coordinator, DLR Prerna (NGO) Darjeeling


10. Shri Sailesh Chandra Sharma                                                                                                                                                                            Program Manager, DLR Prerna (NGO) Darjeeling Member
11. Smt  Panchani Sharma District Coordinator (Biodiversity) Darjeeling Member


For information relating to procedure involved / status / People’s Biodiversity Registers/Biodiversity Heritage Sites etc. you may reach to –  


District Environment Section

Office of the District Magistrate, Darjeeling – 734101.


Contact:  9002994966 (District Nodal Officer), 9832558877 (District Coordinator)

Important Link:

Environment Department, GoWB –

West Bengal Pollution Control Board –

West Bengal Biodiversity Board (WBBB) –